CellarTracker Main Site
Register for Forum | Login | My Profile | Member List | Search

Armagnac advice needed

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Cellar Talk] >> General Discussion >> Armagnac advice needed Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Armagnac advice needed - 2/12/2012 9:42:51 PM   
IWineAlot

I am thinking about buying two bottles of this armagnac from a private seller. Comte De Lauva Armagnac 1929. Since I'm not that we'll educated on armagnacs I hope some of you out there might be. First off how much should I offer for the pair and secondly is this a good producer? Thank you in advance.

Steve AKA "Topic Reviver"

See_Swirl_Smell_Savor_Spit/Swallow_Say Again

"Do what you want...But I'm drinking"
Post #: 1
RE: Armagnac advice needed - 2/13/2012 4:53:41 AM   
gbm

I have no experience with this particular producer or vintage, but I found a bottle online for £ 631.35

--------

That bottle is Comte de Lauvia, but I suspect they are the same.

< Message edited by gbm -- 2/13/2012 4:54:31 AM >

Greg

(in reply to IWineAlot)
Post #: 2
RE: Armagnac advice needed - 2/13/2012 5:17:03 AM   
champagneinhand

i was curious a bout this subject as well. Our local retailer has quite a collection, but I didn't really understand the big difference in price between 1969 and 1968. The '68s were almost double the price and you had to go back into the 50's to find another $300+ bottle. I guess this is the second most famous brandy, only to cognac. I still don't understand why cognac says its made from champagne, when its clearly not made from champagne grapes or in the champagne area of France. I would like to learn more about these spirits, just don't have the time or $$ to get into that. Very happy with vodka, gin, rum, tequila and whiskies.