CellarTracker Main Site
Register for Forum | Login | My Profile | Member List | Search

White grapes, Red Rhone

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Cellar Talk] >> General Discussion >> White grapes, Red Rhone Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
White grapes, Red Rhone - 8/31/2014 8:19:20 AM   
Johnnybeverage

Hi everyone,
It's probably easy to see that I'm a newb here so first up I'd like to say a big hello to the regulars on this forum.
I have a question that's been bugging me for a while. White grapes, red Rhone. Everyone likes Cote Rotie. It costs a packet. Does anyone know of other producers in the Rhone that add a portion of Rousanne, Marsanne or Viognier into their red wine production? I know that St. Joseph AOC allows it but I've never come across a more value oriented bottle. Any hints?
Post #: 1
RE: White grapes, Red Rhone - 8/31/2014 8:43:11 AM   
mclancy10006

Not easy to search for but they do exist. St. Joseph is a good bet and you can try this one its like $45.

https://www.cellartracker.com/wine.asp?iWine=1623536

This link is some detail from the importer which is not on CT. (CT shows this as Syrah and I bet its mostly Syrah so not really wrong either)
http://www.jolivin.com/facts/gonon/gonon.pdf

-Mark

(in reply to Johnnybeverage)
Post #: 2
RE: White grapes, Red Rhone - 8/31/2014 8:45:30 AM   
Johnnybeverage

Great. Thanks for the swift reply. I'll be sure to try this one out. I only hope I'll be able to source it in Japan, where I live.

(in reply to mclancy10006)
Post #: 3
RE: White grapes, Red Rhone - 8/31/2014 8:53:02 AM   
champagneinhand