CellarTracker Main Site
Register for Forum | Login | My Profile | Member List | Search

2003 Bdx : how does a hot vintage behaves on the long run ?

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Cellar Talk] >> General Discussion >> 2003 Bdx : how does a hot vintage behaves on the long run ? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
2003 Bdx : how does a hot vintage behaves on the long r... - 3/17/2021 1:30:50 PM   
Eduardo787

I have no experience whatsoever with vintages like 2003. It was very hot, very alcoholic, and very non- standard for Bordeaux. I have a few wines and was wondering if this kind of vintages are good for long term cellaring or how should I play 2003 ? 2005 we all agree that is for very long cellaring, maybe even 10+ years more as well as 2010, but after reading a lot of comments about 2003 I still don´t know if I should continue to cellar them or start opening a few. I am talking about pomerols and St. Emilions. And....yes, of course I want to have some fruit in the wine and I am not concerned about tertiary or earthy flavors but I am also planning on getting some complexities and not just hedonistic fruit juice. Thoughts ?

I can´t be happier than drinkling wine with my friends
Post #: 1
RE: 2003 Bdx : how does a hot vintage behaves on the lo... - 3/17/2021 3:12:34 PM   
jmcmchi

I drank up my 2003 St Emilions a long time ago....

(in reply to Eduardo787)
Post #: 2
RE: 2003 Bdx : how does a hot vintage behaves on the lo... - 3/17/2021 4:14:49 PM   
Blue Shorts

You've likely done this already, but if not.....

Lookup your specific wines and vintages and see what the recent tasting notes look like. You should be able to get a good feel for whether to drink or cellar longer.

(in reply to Eduardo787)
Post #: 3
RE: 2003 Bdx : how does a hot vintage behaves on the lo... - 3/17/2021 6:40:57 PM   
sastewart