CellarTracker Main Site
Register for Forum | Login | My Profile | Member List | Search

Bourbon

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Cellar Talk] >> General Discussion >> Bourbon Page: [1] 2 3 4 5   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Bourbon - 4/2/2014 10:08:29 AM   
vinopkm

So I want to explore bourbon a little more. My only experience with bourbon are bourbon old fashioneds and Woodenville Bourbon.

I have narrowed down to two choices:

Four Roses Single barrel 100PF OBSV 35% Rye 8yrs 8months
http://www.hitimewine.net/FOUR-ROSES-SINGLE-BARREL-750.html

Or

Rowan Creek Bourbon 12yr

I have limited experience and looking to explore & keep it sub $50
Post #: 1
RE: Bourbon - 4/2/2014 10:17:16 AM   
Eddie

If you can find it, try the W. L. Weller 12-year-old. Should be about $26-28 but there is a huge demand for it. When it is allotted to retailers around here, most of it is sold before it hits the shelves.

Also try Noah's Mill. About $45 here locally.

< Message edited by Eddie -- 4/2/2014 12:03:10 PM >

V horam in quodam loco est.

(in reply to vinopkm)
Post #: 2
RE: Bourbon - 4/2/2014 10:20:26 AM   
Jack667

I'm also looking to explore Bourbon a bit, but know considerably less than you!

I bought Angel's Envy, based on some limited research, but I haven't tried it yet.

As for four roses, a local store here loves that stuff, and they get involved with some of the single-barrel stuff. We're in GA, so it's probably not something you'd get involved with, but you might find it interesting. Here's the text of a recent e-mail:

=========

Hinton's Wine Store is buying another Four Roses Single Barrel and the samples have arrived. To celebrate this occasion we would like to invite you to a tasting of the Four Roses Single Barrel samples. Your taste will help us decide which sample to stock our shelves with.