CellarTracker Main Site
Register for Forum | Login | My Profile | Member List | Search

This is meant to be fun, albeit a bit catty.

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Cellar Talk] >> General Discussion >> This is meant to be fun, albeit a bit catty. Page: [1] 2   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
This is meant to be fun, albeit a bit catty. - 12/7/2023 9:13:42 PM   
peeks13

Hey, I was a beginner wine drinker, as we all were. I've heard people say, "oh, this Chardonnay is nice. Now tell me, is a chardonnay the same thing as a cabernet?" I get it. Maybe they were dragged to Napa instead of their comfortable place of Kentucky bourbon country.

At a paid tasting tonight, this person asked of the rep, "Can I ask you, what do these points mean that are listed below the wine descriptions?"

"Oh, well, they are someone's idea of the quality of this wine compared to others."

"So, do you want to have more points? Does more points mean it's supposed to be better?"

She didn't strike me as a golfer, or a triathlete, where lower is better. Again, having fun here. What have you overheard that made your eyes roll? If it was said by George Santos it doesn't count.

Post #: 1
RE: This is meant to be fun, albeit a bit catty. - 12/7/2023 11:01:17 PM   
nwinther

I'm sometimes taken by some peoples... naïvity(?) when it comes to wine. I can find myself at a tasting or with someone who's bought some expensive storage equipment (or something else) for his wines, who apparently knows very little about what he just paid thousands of dollars for.

Questions like "is it really possible to taste black currant in a wine not made from black currant? How?"