CellarTracker Main Site
Register for Forum | Login | My Profile | Member List | Search

A Correction In the Market?

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Cellar Talk] >> General Discussion >> A Correction In the Market? Page: [1] 2   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
A Correction In the Market? - 9/20/2019 6:50:23 AM   
annerk

We've seen California (particularly Napa Valley) wines raise in price to astronomical levels over the past 15 years. Allocation lists closed for years have begun to open, and higher end wineries who in the past have not welcomed guests are often now hanging out "We're Open, Come On In" shingles where their driveways meet the Trail and Highway. While there could be many reasons for this, I firmly believe that what I've been saying for the past 6-7 years is beginning to happen--Napa has priced themselves out of the market, and there is an over supply of wine and fruit.

This article is worth the read.

I'll be the first to admit that there are a number of factors that cumulatively have produced this situation, but it was bound to happen. Every commodity market has it's cycles, and I believe we are about to see a fairly major shift in Napa, and California in general.

https://www.instagram.com/whattheducktravel
Post #: 1
RE: A Correction In the Market? - 9/20/2019 7:28:05 AM   
Sourdough

Hi Anne! Fully agree! Many factors and there will be exceptions, but I have long felt that the volume of improving wine quality would eventually lead to pressures that would tend to soften demand for elite priced wines. I don't spend much time or money on Napa but I see some winemakers prices soaring (up 15 to 20 percent per year) at the same time that they seem to be inviting new allocation commitments. That seems unhealthy and likely a sign of future problems.